I was one of those who stressed out when I heard about this research project we had to perform.  Choosing a television series and comparing it to the life events we are living right now is a hard task I am going to experience.  Anyways, I ended up choosing a television series called “Arrested Development” and the by the way, never had seen it before.  As I got to the point where I had to choose some issues that will create an interesting research essay, I started to force myself analyzing this show.  I started to read summaries about it and finally saw a website where I could see every single episode of the show: Hulu.  As I watched the first episode, I was trying to pick out issues that were going on so that I could relate them to contemporary media culture. The first topic I could bring about was that this show liked to make allusions to other television shows.  Cultural references were another topic I would like to make in my essay.  This two are only surface topics I would like to point out and will later dig to analyze the roots of these issues. What I mean to this is that I will create facts about how this topics contribute to the society we are living right now.  I will raise questions in whether these topics are important to the extent of this reality show.  Yet, another topic I want to explain more thorough throughout my essay is how this family economically was hit and make a comparison to the economic problems we have now.  This is in the thought that many rich people experienced the same events this family in the show had.

Well, I cannot be going on with this if you do not have any clue on the show of “Arrested Development.”  “Arrested Development” was created by Mitchell Hurwitz.  The show is about how a family is in problem when the father of the house is arrested and Michael Bluth has to take charge in the business his father had to maintain the economic status of the family. Not only with the economic part, but also Michael has to deal with his own “psychic” family.

I read an article called “Arrested Development: A Freudian Analysis”. The article compared the family in the show with Sigmund Freud’s theories.  It really helped me out to create new ideas on this project.

Anyhow, “Arrested Development came to television in the channel of Fox in the year of 2003.  I am particularly going to focus in season one of the series.

One specific statement of purpose will be on how the questions I raise will be important to the issues the show acts out on communicating its purposes to the audience.  In other words, I want to prove on how this show will relate to the events that are happening right now in the society such as economic issues for an example.